Day 35: Ventura – Santa Monica

Day 35: Ventura – Santa Monica

Distance: 68.14 miles.
Time: 6:32.
Average Speed: 10.4 mph.

Although it was to be a shorter day than the previous few, I was keen to get on the move. After setting off, I headed along the Ventura coastline, passing Surfers’ Point which was a hive of activity despite it being 8:45 on an overcast morning.

image.jpg

Rolling along some peaceful residential streets, I turned the corner and was amazed to see the backyards of the houses I’d just passed by.

image.jpg

Continuing to Port Hueneme, I pedalled right through town and out the other side looking for somewhere promising to breakfast, before backtracking and finding ‘The Best Breakfast Cafe’.

Soon I was back on Highway 1 and back on the coast, admiring the view at Point Mugu.

image

continuing on to Leo Carillo State Park where I saw the very specific random collection of vans and trailers that suggested a film shoot was nearby, and there it was, further along the beach.

Next up was probably the most dangerous part of the route so far, as I passed through Malibu for the next 21 miles. There was a car width shoulder throughout, but most of the route was along busy beaches and the shoulder was lined with cars. It was a fine line between leaving room for opening car doors, and staying off the carriageway. I took a break half way through, stopping at Malibu Seafood for some Clam Chowder and Fish Taquitos.

Then, at 5 o’clock, I reached the outer reaches of the Los Angeles coastline, moving onto the beachside bike path to head along the coast through Santa Monica and Venice Beach.

image

It was still overcast so the volleyball courts were empty, but the bike path was crammed.

Returning to Santa Monica, to check into my Hostel, I spotted a new restaurant next door, North Italia, deciding to give it a try, and staying until it was time for bed.

Leave a Reply

